Department of History

Early Modern World(s)

Pitt’s Department of History offers a rare cluster of dynamic junior and senior faculty specializing in the early modern British, North American, French, Iberian, Dutch, Baltic, and Scandinavian worlds. Our faculty and students form a vibrant core within the university's interdisciplinary Early Modern Worlds initiative. Emphasizing trans-national, comparative, and world historical approaches, we practice early modern European history as an integral part of Pitt’s distinctive graduate program, with a particular strength in Atlantic History. We collaborate with early modernists in other fields and departments.

A Vibrant Research Context

The department regularly hosts post-docs with early modern interests. Pitt also features early modernist faculty across the departments of Communication Studies, History of Art and Architecture, History and Philosophy of Science, Jewish Studies, as well as the European languages and literatures (English, French, German, Italian).

We collaborate with various University Research Centers and Programs: European Studies Center, Center of Russian and Eastern European Studies, World History Center, Global Studies Center, Humanities Center, Medieval and Renaissance Studies, and Eighteenth-Century Studies.

We regularly host distinguished guest speakers who often also lead graduate seminars and workshops. Recent and forthcoming visitors include Professors Dena Goodman (Michigan), Marcy Norton (GWU), Dan Edelstein (Stanford).

International Networks

We participate actively in numerous international societies concerned with early modern Atlantic, British, French, Luso-Iberian, and Ottoman studies, as well as the Forum for European Expansion and Global Initiative and the World History Association. We enjoy links with the Center for History and Economics, Cambridge, UK. The Journal of Early Modern History (Brill) is under the editorship of Dr. Molly A. Warsh.


Niklas Frykman
Associate Professor
Holger Hoock
Amundson Chair of British History [On Sabbatical 2022/23]
James Pickett
Associate Professor
Marcus Rediker
Distinguished Professor
Pernille Røge
Associate Professor
Molly Warsh
Associate Professor